Childish Gambino Channels The Force On ‘Me And Your Mama’

Juggling two high-profile careers can be an arduous task – but Donald Glover (Childish Gambino) seems to have it on lock after an excellent debut series of his TV show ‘Atlanta’ and a forthcoming role in the new Star Wars film.

Bearing in mind that his previous full-length release was all the way back in 2013, I have some excellent news: Gambino’s released a new track! Wait – better yet, he’s releasing a new album! ‘Awaken My Love!’ marks Gambino’s third LP, and will serve as a follow-up to his Grammy-nominated project ‘Because the Internet’. We can expect the album on December 2nd, and judging by its initial offering – some ethereal soul.

‘Me and Your Mama’, then, is the first single from Gambino’s new LP, premiered yesterday and played 6 times back to back on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show. Some wistful keys initiate Gambino’s six minute ballad, however as the track unfurls, soulful, rock-infused production is bolstered with some powerful vocals from Mr Glover. “Do what you want! / I’m telling you let me into your heart / Can’t stand it / Backhanded / They wanna see us fallin’ apart!”.

The single will also ostensibly serve as the album opener, which is certainly reflected in the track’s cinematic build-up. With the chaotic and somewhat disheartening states of affairs that 2016 has delivered up so far, hopefully Gambino can put a smile back on our faces before the year’s out. I, for one, believe he will.

Glover’s last Gambino release came in 2014, when he put out STN MTN / Kauai. His sophomore LP, Because the Internet, arrived in 2013.

The full tracklist for Awaken, My Love!, which is out December 2 via Glassnote is below.

1 Me and Your Mama
2 Have Some Love
3 Boogieman
4 Zombies
5 Riot
6 Redbone
7 California
8 Terrified
9 Baby Boy
10 The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11 Stand Tall