Ibeyi Announce Sophomore Album ‘Ash’ With ‘Deathless’ Video

Whatever happens, when French-Cuban twins Ibeyi drop something new, it’s only right to drop everything and pay attention. Announcing the release of their sophomore album, ‘Ash’, Ibeyi have premiered the video for their new single ‘Deathless’ featuring Kamasi Washington.

Just like ‘River’ gave us life, ‘Deathless’ takes us to the other side of the existential dilemma. Written immediately after Lisa-Kaindé was wrongly arrested by French police at the age of 16,  she wrote ‘Deathless’ as a “an anthem for everybody”.

“For every minority. For everybody that feels that they are nothing, that feels small, that feels not cared about and I want them to listen to our song and for three minutes feel large, powerful, deathless. I have a huge amount of respect for people who fought for, what I think, are my rights today and if we all sing together  ‘we are deathless, ’they will be living through us into a better world.”

Lisa-Kaindé and Naomi will address everything from womanhood, spirituality, activism and racism, on ‘Ash’ which is set for release on September 29 via XL Recordings.  While their debut album dug deep into their historic roots, ‘Ash’ is very much about their present state of being from both a personal and political perspective. Featuring guest appearances from Kamasi Washington, Mala Rodriguez, Chilly Gonzales, Meshell Ndegeocello, the album will reflect a feeling of optimism, openness and acceptance.

Ash tracklist:

  1. I Carried This For Years
  2. Away Away
  3. Deathless feat. Kamasi Washington
  4. I Wanna Be Like You
  5. No Man Is Big Enough For My Arms
  6. Valé
  7. Waves
  8. Transmission/Michaelion feat. Meshell Ndegeocello
  9. Me Voy feat. Mala Rodriguez
  10. When Will I Learn feat. Chilly Gonzales
  11. Numb
  12. Ash