Robert Glasper Curates ‘Everything’s Beautiful’ for Miles Ahead

The release of the movie MILES AHEAD, will open not only as the directorial debut from Don Cheadle but also see him in the starring role as the man with a horn, Miles Davis.

Heading to UK cinemas in April, the film release brings with it a slew of releases and reissues, with 2 albums officially and masterfully curated by Blue Note Grammy Award winning Hip-Hop/Jazz artist Robert Glasper.

Setting out on a visionary exploration of the music of Miles Davis, ‘Everything’s Beautiful’ incorporates Miles’ original recordings into new collaborative soundscapes, with Bilal, Illa J, Erykah Badu, Phonte, Hiatus Kaiyote, Laura Mvula, KING, Georgia Ann Muldrow, John Scofield and Ledisi, and Stevie Wonder.

Expect the unexpected on ‘Everything’s Beautiful’ a crafted 11 track collection that is not only produced by Robert Glasper, but carefully blends together master takes and outtakes from Miles Davis’ catalog. Glasper based the project not only on Miles sound but his vision, his trumpet, his voice, his composition, influence and his swag “I didn’t want to do just a remix record.” Open to the future legacy of Miles Davis, Glaspers own vision “was to show how Miles inspired people to make new art,” with an awareness that “Miles didn’t have one audience.

I am living in the spirit of Miles when I am doing what I’m doing because I am documenting my time period. I’m documenting what’s around me. I’m documenting who I am now, where music is now,” and you can catch a mini-documentary of Glasper introducting the project above.


Embodying the innovative spirit, spontaneity and improvisational spirit of Jazz, Miles Davis was a pioneering rarity who pushed himself into newer directions, always open to work with collaborators in the studio who could further draw out his musical vision. Drawing new sounds into Jazz, Miles created enlightened ambient soundscapes from ‘In A Silent Way’, to the moody classic ‘Bitches Brew’, and before all others, Miles was the master in shifting musical paradigms.

Robert Glasper has also scored for the film MILES AHEAD, and produced the OST album as well as ‘Everything’s Beautiful’, see the track listing below;

1. “Talking Shit”
2. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal
3. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J
4. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu
5. “Violets” featuring Phonte
6. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote
7. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula
8. “Song For Selim” featuring KING
9. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow
10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi
11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder

The album is due for release on Friday, May 27 (the day after Miles’ 90th birthday), pre-order it on iTunes now