Solange Invites You To ‘A Seat At The Table’

Take in this lyric – “I’m weary of the ways of the world” – and you’ll be softly led into a beautifully written album, where the only question raised isn’t whether there’s ‘A Seat at the Table’ for you, but whether you even want one in a world that doesn’t value your contribution.

The new album from Solange Knowles, has arrived like a surprise gift, one you weren’t expecting but damn it’s all about giving love. Released on her own label Saint Records, the album, which Solange began writing and producing in 2013, has been created to ‘provoke healing and a journey of self empowerment.’ according to Solange. At a time where we’re truly weary in our hearts and souls, and the media is far from mindful of our feelings, it’s in our music we have the power to uplift. Solange, is just that someone who’s got so much magic, that you just gotta have it.

Put bluntly – “This shit is for us, Some shit is a must, This shit is for us”

Announcing the album days before it’s release, Solange has described ‘A Seat At The Table’ as “a project on identity, empowerment, independence, grief and healing.” Accompanied by a book of poetry, lyrics and photos the digital version of the book ‘A Seat At The Table’ is available to download here.

  • Rise
  • Weary ft. Tweet
  • The Glory is in You (Interlude)
  • Cranes in the Sky
  • Dad Was Mad (Interlude)
  • Mad ft. Lil Wayne, Moses Sumney & Tweet
  • Don’t You Wait
  • Tina Taught Me (Interlude)
  • Don’t Touch My Hair ft. Sampha
  • This Moment ft. Devonte Hynes & Lu
  • Where Do We Go ft. Sean Nicholas Savage
  • For Us By Us (Interlude)
  • F.U.B.U. ft. The-Dream, BJ the Chicago Kid & Tweet
  • Borderline (An Ode to Self-Care) ft. Q-Tip
  • I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It (Interlude) ft. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews
  • Junie
  • No Limits (Interlude)
  • Don’t Wish Me Well
  • Pedestals (Interlude)
  • Scales ft. Kelela
  • Closing: The Chosen Ones

Stream the album on Tidal, Spotify, Apple Music et al or download it now on iTunes.