Vic Mensa Debut’s ‘The Autobiography’

Fresh off the back of his 4 track EP ‘The Manuscript’, Vic Mensa drops his brand new album ‘The Autobiography’ this Friday (28th). With the EP acting almost as a prequel to tomorrow’s release, Vic served up a sign of things to come allowing fans to see him transpire from rapper to artist.

In the run up to Mensa’s highly anticipated debut LP, the rapper let go of a string of dope visuals including videos for ‘OMG’ as well as the cinematic ‘Rage’ video, which staged Vic in a plane crash – far from your usual rap video. This alone stands testament to Vic’s growth as an artist creatively and conceptually.

Ahead of the album release the Roc Nation signee dropped the Pharrell assisted ‘Wings’, a carefully crafted and expertly produced track that delves into the trials and tribulations of the Chicago native’s life, career thus far and heavy struggles with drug addiction. It’s open and it’s honest, two traits we come to expect and welcome heavily on the album.

The album reads as the title suggests, an open book and provides a heavy glipse into the psyche of Mr Mensa. With the album being executively produced by No. I.D, who was the sole producer on Jay Z’s recent project ‘4:44’ you can expect the quality of production to be tight, well crafted and whole.

Collaborations are vast with fellow Chicago artists Chief Keef and Joey Purp making an appearance along side Ty Dolla $ign, The Dream, Pusha T, Pharrell and Saul Williams, Syd and Weezer.

‘The Autobiography’ is essentially a coming of age story. It takes you through the whirlwind of ups and downs of fame but done in such a way that Mensa’s pen game keeps you gripped the whole way through as much of what he says I’m sure is relatable to that average twenty something.

The album starts with an ode to his supportive parents on ‘Didn’t I’, which builds as the backbone to the project much like his life. Subject matter on the album tackles racial injustice on the Ty Dolla $ign assisted track ‘We Could Be Free’, past relationships on tracks ‘Coffee & Cigarettes’ and ‘Homewrecker’, to the lighter care free tracks ‘Down 4 Some Ignorance’ and ‘Rollin’ Like a Stoner’. Towards the later half of the album Vic touches on the violence within his hometown on ‘The Fire Next Time’, as well as the tragic murder of his friend on ‘Heaven On Earth’ a topic he’s spoken on passionately in the press recently.

Personally, I think ‘The Autobiography’ is first class and as someone who’s listened to Vic since first hearing ‘Darling’ by Kids These Days, it’s the growth from Vic both lyrically and musically that’s the most impressive. He’s always been more than the average rapper to me and it’s this debut project that marks the journey into stardom, the journey from a boy to a man and the journey from rapper to artist – Vic Mensa is a modern day rock star.

Tomorrow press play and take a walk through the mind of Vic Mensa.


  1. “Didn’t I (Say I Didn’t)”
  2. “Memories on 47th St.”
  3. “Rollin’ Like a Stoner”
  4. “Homewrecker” Feat. Weezer
  5. “Gorgeous” Feat. Syd
  6. “Heaven on Earth” Feat. The-Dream
  7. “Card Cracker (Skit)”
  8. “Down 4 Some Ignorance (Ghetto Lullaby)” Feat. Chief Keef & Joey Purp
  9. “Coffee & Cigarettes”
  10. “Wings” Feat. Pharrell Williams & Saul Williams
  11. “Heaven on Earth (Reprise)”
  12. “The Fire Next Time”
  13. “We Could Be Free” Feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  14. ”Rage (Bonus Track)”
  15. “OMG” Feat. Pusha T (Bonus Track)

Vic Mensa’s The Autobiography is available to stream or download from Friday 28th July.